
International Classification of Diseases - 10
ICD-10 is the 10th revision of the International Classification of 
Diseases (ICD). On Oct. 1, 2014, the ICD-10 code sets will replace 
the ICD-9. During this current transition period, a number of health 
care insurance carriers have already began using and/or recognizing 
the ICD-10 codes. Although not mandated by Kansas Workers 
Compensation, it is strongly recommended that ICD-10 be employed 
for billing purposes on the CMS-1500 form, or an equivalent form containing the same information.

2013 Law Book Options
	 •	 Download the complete updated book of Kansas Workers Compensation Laws and Regulations from the  
		  April 25, 2013 (Complete) link on the Forms and Publications Web page.
	 •	 Download a set of only the sections of the book in which changes occurred, along with an updated index from 	
		  the April 25, 2013 (Changes Only) link on the Forms and Publications Web page.
	 •	 Order - for $17.50, the same price as last year - the complete updated book of Kansas Workers Compensation 	
		  Laws and Regulations. Receive a three-hole binder and divider sheets to organize the book into sections.
	 •	 Order - for $10 - a three-hole punched packet of only the sections of the book that changes occurred in, along 	
		  with an updated index.

Notice to Employers, Insurance Carriers, Group Pools and Self Insurers
Employers must send accident reports to their insurance carrier, third party administrator or pool association for 
electronic submission to the Division of Workers Compensation. Per K.A.R. 51-9-17, all insurance carriers, group 
pools and self insurers are required to use Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) to file both First Reports of Injury 
(FROI) and Subsequent Reports of Injury (SROI) using the Release 3 Standards. All claim information submitted 
pursuant to K.S.A. 44-557a, and amendments thereto, by EDI shall be submitted according to the Kansas EDI 
Release 3 Guide. 

Fast Facts
Information Resource: Find information about the Workers Compensation law, elections, employers’ 
responsibilities, the categories of disability benefits, how rates are determined, how to obtain insurance, 
conditions that affect benefits, guidelines for medical treatments, ombudsman and mediation services in Workers 
Compensation Information for Kansas Employers and Employees. A Spanish Version is also available.

Continuing Education: Depending on your occupation, it could be several years before you need to report 
continuing education documentation for credit purposes. Certification documentation from past Workers 
Compensation Seminars can be reissued up to five years from the date attended. Contact WCSeminar@dol.ks.gov.

Employer Services: The Employer Services section can explain posting requirements, timely submissions of 
accident reports, election information, insurance requirements, general compliance with workers compensation laws 
and regulations and more. Send questions to WCEmployerServices@dol.ks.gov.
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Contact Information Reorganized Online
Contact information pages and links have been reorganized on the Workers Compensation website so visitors 
can find the information they need efficiently. Begin at the new Contact Us Web page and look for the type of 
information needed.

Each section of the Division is listed on the Division Section Directory, with a Web page link and contact person for 
most of the sections. An email address and phone number is included for all sections.

The Office Locations page now includes the listings of the Administrative Law Judges’ legal assistants and email 
address for each location. The Special Administrative Law Judges and Court Reporters pages have not changed, but 
are more accessible than previously.

Now from this single Contact Us page, users can find links to all of the Workers Compensation contact information 
located on the website. 

6th Edition Guides - a General Session Topic
The 40th Annual Workers Compensation Seminar, Sept. 30 and Oct. 1 at the Overland Park Convention Center, 
will offer the 6th Edition American Medical Association (AMA) Guides as a general session on day two. The 6th 
Edition AMA Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment will be adopted by the state of Kansas in 2015.

The 6th Edition Guides recognize the importance of environmental factors, contain a new system of categorization, 
introduces five impairment classes and various functional based guide modifiers to diagnose based impairment 
classes.

The general session will highlight the main difference between the 4th and 6th Editions, and will include requisites 
for an appropriate examination, rating methodology and comparative exposure for medical conditions. Presenters 
will focus on the use of key factors within the rating tables and the diagnostic testing and physical examination 
procedures that must be undertaken to complete a proper rating examination.
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Interested in exhibiting?
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