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Workers Comgensation Insurance

 Workers Compensation Is an insurance
plan provided by the employer to pay

employee benefits for job-related injuries,
disabllity or death.

« Coverage begins the first day on the job.

e Coverage Is regulated by
(Application of Act) and

(Computing Payroll for Corporations)
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Methods of Coverage - K.S.A. 44-532(b)

* Every employer shall secure the payment of compensation to the
employer's employees by insuring in one of the following ways:

= (1) By insuring and keeping insured the payment of such
compensation with an insurance carrier authorized to transact
the business of workers compensation insurance in the state of
Kansas;

= (2) by showing to the director that the employer carries such
employer's own risk and is what is known as a self-insurer and
by furnishing proof to the director of the employer's financial
ability to pay such compensation for the employer's self;

= (3) by maintaining a membership in a qualified group-funded
workers compensation pool. The cost of carrying such insurance
or risk shall be paid by the employer and not the employee.

|
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COVERAGE REQUIREMENTS

e $20,000 payroll threshold (under $20,000 are not
required to carry work comp insurance)

* Wages to self and family members not counted unless
the company is incorporated

e Corporation: TOTAL amount of payroll paid to all
corporate employees even when a corporate
employee has elected out of coverage.

(Computing Payroll)
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Insurance Coverage Exceptions

Some employers may be exempt from obtaining
coverage:

« Agricultural pursuits

 Employers with gross annual payroll of
$20,000 or less

* Owner-operator vehicle drivers covered by
their own occupational accident insurance
policy (Exclusive Driver of the vehicle)

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas
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Insurance Coverage Exceptions
(continued)

o Partnerships

« Members of a Limited Liability
Corporation (LLC members)

e Sub-Contractors/Independent

Contractors

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Ka'nsas

and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



Required Postings and Forms

Employers must post written notice (K-WC
40A)advising employees what to do in case
of injury

Immediately upon learning of an employee’s
injury or death, the employer must furnish
written information (K-WC 27A/270A) to the

employee or employee’s dependents

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas

and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



This nofice must be posted and maintained by the employer in one or more conspicuous places.

Workers Compensation Rights and Responsibilities

‘Your employer is subject to the Kansas Workers Compensation Law which provides compensation for job-related injuries.
This notice applies to dates of accidents on or after April 25, 2013.
Este aviso aplica a las fechas de los accidentes a partir de Abril 25, 2013.

WHAT TO DO IF AN INJURY QUE HACER Sl UNA LESION

OCCURS ON THE JOB

NOTIFY YOUR EMFLOYER IMMEDIATELY. Per
E.5A 445720, 3 claim may be denied if an emploves fails to
motify their employer within the eartiest of the following dates:
(A) 20 calendar days from the date of accident or the date of
ily'nr]rb)'rq)ﬁiﬁwlrm; (B) if the employes i working for
the employer azsinct whom benefits are being songht and soch
employes secks medicsl treatment for amy injury by sccdent or
repeditive tramms, 20 calendar days from the date snch medical
treatment is sousht; or (C) if the employes no longer works for
the employer azsinct whom benefits are being songht,

10 calendar days after the employes's 1est day of acmsl work
fior the enmployer.

Hotice may be given arally or in writing Where notice is
provided orally, lfﬂnm]iw!hsshgmmdmmtmdmlm

OCURRE EN EL TRABAJO

ASU EMFLEADOR INMEDIATAMENTE.

De acuerdo con el articalo de ley E.S.A 44-520, wm reclamo pusds
ser nepado =i e enmpleado no notifica 3 su empleador dentro de
antes de las sipmientes fechas: (4) 20 dias a periir de ks fecha dal
accidente o la fecha de la lesion debido a trauma por movimiensos
repetitivos; (B) si &l enpleado sstd trabajando con &l emplesdor
en contra del oual se estin buscando bensficios v dicho empleado
bmtmmmmmdxupmmlqmak&mpmmhma
iraumS Tepeditiva, 20 dias a partir de Ia facha que dicho ratanmienio
médico ha sido obtenido; o (C) =i el empleads ya no trabaja para el
empleador en contra del cnal se estin buscando beneficios, 10 dias
despuss del nltime dia de trabajo para dicho enpleador.

El aviso puede darse oralmente o por escrito. Donde el swviso
e da oralmente, 5i el empleador ha desipnado un imdivideo o

department 10 whom notice nmst be given and such

dey 3 quien &l 3viso se debe dar v tal desiznacion ha side

hasbemommm.mmdmmngmﬂum Totice o

comumicada por escrito al empleado, aviso & coalquier otro individoo
udqmrmmchben ser nsuficiente bajo esta seccion. Siel

or department to whom notice mnst be given notice nmest be
provided o 8 SUpervisor of manager

Where notice is provided in writing, notice nmast be sent to
A supervisor of manszer at the employes’s principsl location of
employment.

‘The notice, whether provided orally or in writing, shall
of soch injury. It must be apparent from the content of the:
nofice that the employee is daiming benafits under the workers
Compencation act or has suffered a work-related injury.
BENEFITS. Bemefits are paid by the emplayer’s
imsurance carrier or self imsaramce propram  Bensfits mchide
medical treatment, partial wage replacement for lost time and
additional benefits if the njury results in permanent dizability.
An employer is required to firnish all necessary medicsl
treatment and has the right to desipnate the tresting physician.
If the employes seeks treatment from a doctor not suthorized by
the employer, the employer or its insurance carmer is only Lisble
up to $500.00 dollars for the mnanthonized medical treatrment.

2w individuo o departamento a quen se
dd:lechrelmnso &l avizo poede darse 3 1m sOpervisor o geremte.

Diomde el aviso se hace par escrito, &l aviso debe ser emvizsdo
2 1m supervisor o gerente de 1a oficing principal de empleo del
trabajador.

El aviso, sea que se hags omlmente opmﬁmm,ﬂnmdlm
1a hora, fecha, hugsr, persons lesionads v detalles de tal lesidn. Debe
st visible @ partir del contenide del aviso, que &l emplaado esta
radmmnﬂlhaieﬁmxha]ahhj:htmﬂmmdﬂmmn
gue ba suffido una lesion relacionada con &l irsbajo.

BENEFICIOS. Los beneficios son pazados por la compaita
aseguradora del empleador o programa de segaro propin. Los
bensficios nchryen tratamiento medico, mmphmcbsnelﬁ)pam:lal
por tismpo perdido y beneficios adicionales si la lesion results en
incapacidad permanente. E] empleador debe proporcionar todo el
iratamiente medico necesario y tens el derecho de designar el doctor
para dicho tratamiensn. 51 &l empleadn busca tratamients con tm

primeres 350000 dolsres para tratamiento medico e auonzsdo.

WHERE TO GET HELP WITH YOUR CLAIM (DONDE CONSEGUIR AYUDA CON SU RECLAMO):

( )

Exployer's Inserance Carmier (Compadin Assguradors dal Eopleador)

&=k

‘Addross (Dizwccion, de la Aseguradors)

For questions about Workers Compensation Law, contact (Para preguntas acerca de la Ley de Compensacion del Trabajader):

EANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR.
Division of Workers Compensation Ombuadsman

401 SW Topeka Blvd , Suite 2, Topeka, ES 66603-3105

Website: wawdol ks poviworkcompy'default aspe
Email:  wci@idel ks gov
Phome:  (800) 332-0353 or (785) 2064000

Pamom with Enpaired bearing or speech wilizing 2 telecommmmications devics may access the above numsbar(s) by using the Eames Relay Comtor at (B00) T66-3777.
wwwdel.ks.gov KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF LAEOR H-WE 4TRA [8-13)

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair
and efficient administration of state labor laws.

Posting Notice K-WC 40-A
Revised April 2013
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INFORMATION FOR INJURED EMPLOYEES

K-WC 27-A {Rev. 2-14)

*THIS NOTICE APPLIES TO ACCIDENTS ON OR AFTER APRIL 25, 2013 *
Employers are required to provide this information to each injured worker

WHAT TO DO IF AN INJURY OCCURS ON THE JOB

If you have any questions about workers compensation benefits, contact the Division of Workers
Compensation at the phone number at the bottom of the page. Assistance in Spanish is available.

(1) NOTIFY YOUR EMPLOYER IMMEDIATELY: Per K5 A 44-520, a claim may be denied
if an emplovyee fails to nofify their employer within the earliest of the following dates: (A) 20 calendar
days from the date of accident or the date of injury by repetitive trauma; (B) if the emplovee is
working for the emplover against whom benefits are being sought and such emplovee seeks medical
treatment for any injury by accident or repetitive travma. 20 calendar days from the date such medical
treatment is sought; or (C) if the employee no longer works for the employer against whom benefits
are being sought. 10 calendar days after the employee’s last day of actual work for the employer.

Notice may be given orally or in writing. Where notice is provided orally. if the employer has
designated an individual or department to whom notice must be given and such designation has been
communicated in writing to the employee. notice to any other individual or department shall be
insufficient under this section. If the employer has not designated an individual or department to whom
notice must be given. notice must be provided to a supervisor of MAanager.

Where notice is provided in wrifing. notice must be sent to a supervisor or manager at the
employee’s principal location of employment.

The notice, whether provided orally or in writing, shall include the time, date, place. person
injured and particulars of such injury. It must be apparent from the content of the notice that the
employee is claiming benefits under the workers compensation act or has suffered a work-related
injury.

(2) FOLLOW YOUR EMPLOYER'S INSTRUCTIONS for getting medical aid and follow the
doctor’s instructions.

(3) MEDICAL BENEFITS: An injured worker is entitled to all medical services reasonably
necessary to cure and relieve the worker from the effects of the injury. The employer has the right to
select the doctor who will treat the injury. A worker may seek the services of an unauthorized doctor
up to a limit of $300.00. A worker may apply to the Workers Compensation Director to change the
authorized treating doctor. Reimbursement for travel to obtain medical treatment is payable at a rate
set by law for trips that are five miles or more (round trip).

(4) WEEKLY BENEFITS: Benefits are paid by the emplover’s insurance carrier or self
insurance program. Injured workers are not entitled to compensation for the first week they are off
work unless they lose three consecutive weeks. The first compensation payment is normally due at the
end of the 14% day of lost time. An injured employee is entitled to a weekly amount of 66 5 percent of
his/her average weekly wage up to a maximum of 75 percent of the state’s average weekly wage.
These benefits are subject to legislative changes. If the injury results in permanent disability. the
Kansas Workers Compensation law provides for additional benefits.

Information for Injured Employees
K-WC 27-A (Rev. 2-14)

1

Ln

RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE EMPLOYER

Unless self-insured, the employer must advise its insurance carrier or group-funded pool of
employee’s injury.

Per K.S A 44-557. it is the duty of every emplover to make or cause to be made a report to the
director of any accident. or claimed or alleged accident, fo any employee which occurs in the
course of the employee’s employvment and of which the emplover or the emplover’'s supervisor has
knowledge, which report shall be made upon a form to be prepared by the director. within 28 days.
after the receipt of such knowledge, if the personal injuries which are sustained by such accidents,
are sufficient wholly or partially to incapacitate the person injured from labor or service for more
than the remainder of the day. shift or furmn on which such injuries were sustained.

As outlined in K AR 51-9-17, all insurance carriers, group pools and self-insurers are required to
use Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) to file First Reports of Injury (FROI) and Subsequent
Reports of Injury (SROI) using the Release 3 Standards. For details contact the Technology and
Statistics section of the Division of Workers Compensation at (785) 296-4000 or (800) 332-0353.
You may access our website at http://www.dol ks. gov/'WorkComp/edinews.aspx.

. Employers must provide for the payment of workers compensation claims without any charge to

employees.

. Employers must post the Workers Compensation Notice prepared by the Director.
. Emplovers must pay compensation benefits, regardless of insurance coverage.

. Upon receiving notice of an injury, the employer must provide the employee written information to

assist the injured worker in understanding his/her rights and responsibilities in obtaining
compensation.

EMPLOYERS MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING
INFORMATION FOR INJURED WORKERS

YOUR CLAIM WILL BE HANDLED BY:

Company

Address

Contact Person

Phone ( )

Email

DIVISION OF WORKERS COMPENSATION — OMBUDSMAM / CLAIMS ADVISORY UNIT

401 SW Topeka Blvd., Ste. 2, Topeka, KS 66603-3105 - Phone (785) 296-4000, (800) 332-0353 - Fax (785) 206-0025

K-WC 27-A (English Version; K-WC 270-A (Spanish Version)

Department of Labor

ansas——



JURISDICTION FOR KANSAS
CLAIMS

 The Injury occurred in Kansas

 The employer Is located in Kansas

* The contract of employment was made In
Kansas

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Ka'nsas
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Prevailing Factor For Compensability of

Claim

The primary factor in relation to any other factor.

In determining what constitutes the prevailing factor in a
given case, the administrative law judge shall consider all
relevant evidence submitted by the parties.

Note of Interest: Having creditable medical records and
Information is a must. This also helps determine if there are

preexisting conditions.

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas
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Personal Injury

Any lesion or change in the physical structure of the body,
causing damage or harm thereto. May occur by accident,
repetitive trauma, or occupational disease (K.S.A. 44-508(f)).

g
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Occupational
(Lung Disease)

Accident Repetitive

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Ka'nsas
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Accident

e Occurs during a single work shift

* Produces symptoms of injury

* Injury by accident deemed to arise out of employment if:

— Accident is prevailing factor in causing
injury, medical condition, and resulting
disability/impairment; and

— Causal connection between work and accident.

|
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Repetitive Trauma

— Injury occurs by repetitive use, cumulative traumas, or
micro traumas

— Repetitive nature demonstrated by diagnostic or clinical
tests

— Date of injury for repetitive trauma is earliest of:
— Date employee taken off work by physician

— Date employee placed on modified/restricted duty by
physician

— Date employee advised by physician that condition is
work-related

— Last day worked if employee no longer employed

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas

and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



Repetitive Trauma

(cont’d)

* Injury by Repetitive Trauma deemed to arise out of
employment if:

— Employment exposed worker to increased risk or
hazard that worker would not have been otherwise
exposed to; and

— Increased risk or hazard is prevailing factor in causing
repetitive trauma,; and

— Repetitive trauma is prevailing factor in causing both
the medical condition and resulting disability or
Impairment.

|
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New Legislation 2014

e Sub for HB 2023 which addresses coronary
related instances involving firefighters and law
enforcement officers was passed and will be
effective July 1, 2014

— For events occurring on or after July 1, 2014, in the
case of a firefighter as defined by K.S.A. 40-
1709(b)(1), and amendments thereto, or a law
enforcement officer as defined by K.S.A. 74-5602,
and amendments thereto, coronary or coronary artery
disease or cerebrovascular injury shall be
compensable If:

| |
KDOL serves Kansas workers azld businesses by providing fair Kansas
and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



Sub for HB 2023 (Continued)

* (1) The injury can be identified as caused by a
specific event occurring in the course and scope
of employment;

e (2) the coronary or cerebrovascular injury
occurred within 24 hours of the specific event;
and

* (3) the specific event was the prevailing factor In
causing the coronary or coronary artery disease
or cerebrovascular injury.

KDOL serves Kansas workersghd businesses by providing fair Kansas

and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



Reporting Reguirements

EDI (Electronic Data Interchange)—Mandatory
Effective April 2013

All insurance carriers, group pools, and self-
insurers will be required to use EDI to file both
First Reports of Injury (FROI) and Subsequent

Reports of Injury (SROI) using the Release 3
Standards

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas

and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



Reporting Requirements—
Notice of Injury

Notice requirements for employee to report injury changed
effective April 25, 2013

A) Twenty calendar days from the date of accident or
the date of injury by repetitive trauma;

B) If employee is working for employer against whom
benefits are being sought and such employee seeks
medical treatment for any injury by accident or
repetitive trauma, 20 calendar days from date medical
treatment if sought; or

C) If the employee no longer works for the employer
against whom benefits are being sought, 10 calendar
days after the employee’s last day of actual work for the

employer.
dlNSas—

Department of Labor
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Reporting Requirements—
Oral or Written Required

e OQOral Notice

— If employer has designated department/individual and
communicated such designation to employee in writing, notice
to other individual/department insufficient

— If no designation, notice must be given to supervisor or
manager

 Written Notice

— Employee must prove notice was sent to supervisor or manager
at employee’s principal location of employment and received by
employer

ansas——
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Reporting Requirements—
Oral or Written Required

(cont’'d)

o \Written Notice or Oral Notice must include
time, date, place, and particulars of injury,

and it must be apparent employee Is claiming
benefits or suffered a work-related injury

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas

and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



Calculation of Average Weekly Wage
K.S.A.44-511

“Wages” = Money + Additional Compensation
“Money”

Include bonuses and gratuities
“Additional Compensation”

Include only if employer discontinues
(Board/lodging and employer-paid fringes only)

Average Weekly Wage:
— Calculate using add and divide method
— Use up to 26 weeks preceding injury, if worked

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas

and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



emporary Total Disability (TTD) Benefits

K.S.A. 44-510c(b)(2)

— Opinion of authorized treating physician
presumed determinative as to work status

— Employee entitled to TTD if employer cannot
accommodate temporary restrictions of
authorized treating physician

— No TTD if employee is terminated for cause
or voluntarily resigns and employer could
have accommodated temporary restrictions

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas

and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



Temporary Total Disability (TTD) Benefits
(cont’d)

« No TTD for weeks during which employee
receives unemployment benefits (44-
510c(b)(4))

o 7-day waiting period (44-501c(b)(1))

« Temporary Total Disability is two-thirds of the
average weekly wage, not to exceed the state
maximum in effect at the time of injury

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas

and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



Ways to Settle/Close a Claim

* Filing a final receipt and release of liability
(K.S.A.44-527) (Form K-WC D)

 Hearing and written award (K.S.A. 44-525)
 Joint petition and stipulation
(K.A.R. 51-3-16)

o Settlement hearing before an
administrative law judge

 Voluntary dismissal by the parties

(K.S.A. 44-5/3)
ansas——
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Medical Benefits

— Employer has right to select treating physician

— No medical after Maximum Medical
Improvement unless proven necessary

— Right to future medical treatment not absolute

— Claimant must prove need for future medical
treatment as a result of work injury

— $500 unauthorized medical

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas

and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



Medical Mileage

The Insurance carrier or self-insured
employer shall reimburse the worker for an
amount comparable to the mileage
expenses provided in for

approved medical services that exceeds
five miles round trip.

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas
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Workers Compensation i1s Exempt from
HIPAA

A health care provider may disclose health
Information related to a workers compensation
claim to the parties involved in the claim, or to the
division of workers compensation, without the
patient's authorization, and such disclosure will
not violate the HIPAA regulations.

(45 CFR § 164.512).

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas
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Release of Medical Records

— The patient privilege preventing the furnishing of
medical information by doctors and hospitals is
waived by a worker seeking workers compensation
benefits

— All reports, records, and data concerning
exams/treatment shall be furnished to employer or
Insurance carrier without the necessity of a release
by the worker

|
KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair ans as
and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



Release of Medical Records

(cont’d)

— Unreasonable refusal by a worker to
cooperate may result in compensation being
denied or terminated

K.A.R. 51-9-10 (b)(4)

|
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FUTURE MEDICAL

* No longer automatically awarded

* Prevalling factor standard will be applied
to determining entitiement to future
medical benefits.

o If left open, employer and/or insurance
carrier can seek to permanently terminate
future medical benefits If worker not
received medical care within two years of
award.

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas
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Affidavit of Exempt Status

 Permits “any person” who is not required to be
covered under workers compensation to
execute affidavit of exempt status.

« Form available on the Kansas Department of
Insurance web site

 Not a Workers Compensation Division affidavit.

— Need to comply with Workers Compensation laws as to
whether coverage is required.

KDOL serves Kansas workers an%r%usinesses by providing fair Ka'nsas

and efficient administrati®¥of state labor laws. Department of Labor
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ROOFER'S ACT
SUBSTITUTE FOR HOUSE BILL 2024

Not a Workers Compensation Bill

Belongs to Attorney General — Kansas Consumer
Protection Unit

Requires all roofing contractors to register with the
Attorney General’s Office

How does it affect Workers Compensation?

— Need to comply with Workers Compensation laws as to
whether they need coverage.

— Affidavit not part of Workers Compensation law

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas

and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



Tips for Employers

Focus on obviousness of risk of harm
actually suffered;

Have safety measures in place;

Educate employees about proper safety
procedures;

Enforce safety procedures consistently.

Contact your insurance carrier immediately
after an injury has occurred.

ansas——
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"« Communicate with the employer to
determine who the authorized treating
doctor or facility will be.

 Keep employer informed as to medical care
 Return to Work program

« Communication with injured workers in
timely manner.

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Ka'nsas

and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



COMMUNICATION

")
|
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CONTACT

(800) 332-0353 (Option 3)
or
(785) 296-4000 (Option 3)

Email:
wcemployerservices@dol.ks.gov

KDOL serves Kansas workers and businesses by providing fair Kansas

and efficient administration of state labor laws. Department of Labor



Questions

|
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