
Employers, Insurance Carriers, Third Party Administrators and Group Pools
Employers must send accident reports to their insurance carrier, third party administrator or pool association for electronic 
submission to the Division of Workers Compensation. Per K.A.R. 51-9017, all insurance carriers, group pools and 
self-insurers are required to use the Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) to file both First Reports of Injury (FROI) and 
Subsequent Reports of Injury (SROI) using the Release 3 Standards. All claim information submitted pursuant to K.S.A. 
44-4557a, and amendments there to, by EDI shall be submitted according to the Kansas EDI Release 3 Guide. 

More information about EDI can be found on the Kansas Electronic Data Interchange Website at www.dol.ks.gov/
WorkComp/edinews.aspx.
What’s Happening in Division News?

Find the Latest News about legislative updates, Division web launches,
notices to insurance providers, injured workers, employers and other 
news in the right column on the Workers Compensation website.
Monitor this site to find out what’s new.
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Fast Facts

• The cost of Two-Day Registration at the upcoming Annual Workers Compensation Seminar has changed from 
$140 to $160.

• The Employer Service section can explain posting requirements, timely submissions of accident reports, election 
information, insurance requirements, general compliance with work comp laws and regulations and more. Send 
questions to wcemployerservices@dol.ks.gov.

• The 6th Edition American Medical Association (AMA) Guides to Evaluation of Permanent Impairment will be 
adopted by the state of Kansas in 2015. The guides recognize the importance of environmental factors and contain 
a new system of categorization. The 6th Edition is a general session topic the 40th Annual Workers Compensation 
Seminar in September.

• The Applications and Research section will no longer accept applications for hearings or requests for records via 
e-mail because of security concerns. The same applies to election forms. Please fax or mail these forms to the 
number or address provided on the form.

• The Workers Compensation Fraud and Abuse section does not investigate misconduct by insurance carriers or 
agents. These investigations are made by the Kansas Insurance Department.

• Generally, an employer in a non-agricultural business, with more than $20,000 in non-family payroll, must secure 
workers compensation benefits for their employees. An employer can secure workers compensation benefits in 
one of three ways: by purchasing a workers compensation insurance policy, by joining a group-funded workers 
compensation pool or by qualifying as a self-insurer.



Sprick Elected to Second Term on EDI Council

David Sprick, Administrator of the Division’s Technology and Statistics unit, was re-elected
as the vice chair of the Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) Council. The EDI Council sets
the standards for electronic filing used in many states. He was first elected as vice chair in
May 2013 and was re-elected this month for another one-year term at a meeting in
Coeur d’Alene, Idaho. Sprick has been the Kansas representative since 2006 when Kansas
was appointed to the EDI council by the IAIABC president. The Council creates and maintains
the EDI reporting standards that all states/jurisdictions use for workers’ compensation reporting
of claims, proof of insurance coverage and medical bill reporting.

According to Sprick, they are piloting the extensible markup language (XML) version of the claims standard as the current 
claims standards are all reported in a “flat file” format. “We will implement that in July of this year and once that is tested, 
other states can use the EDI XML claims reporting standard. I have been involved with the XML project since 2007. I have 
been on the EDI committees since I began with the division in 2000, ran EDI training from 2003-06,” he said.

Services Provided by KDOL Divisions

• FREE SAFETY CONSULTATION - Request a free safety consultation from Industrial Safety and Health online on the 
Safety Assistance and Consultations website at www.dol.ks.gov/Safety/assistance.aspx to discover the potential hazards 
at your workplace and improve safety and health practices. 

• EMPLOYER INFORMATION - Find information about Kansas wage laws; wage claims; posters for your workplace; 
minimum wage; overtime; payroll deductions and requirements; holiday, vacation, sick and severance pay; and more at  
Workplace Laws and Requirements online at www.dol.ks.gov/Laws/Default.aspx.

Division Encourages Use of International Classification of Diseases (ICD)-10
ICD-10 is the 10th revision of the International Classification of Diseases (ICD). On Oct. 1, 2014, the ICD-10 code sets will 
replace the ICD-9. During this current transition period, a number of health care insurance carriers have already began 
using and/or recognizing the ICD-10 codes. Although not mandated by Kansas Workers Compensation, it is strongly 
recommended that ICD-10 be employed for billing purposes on the CMS-1500 form, or an equivalent form containing the 
same information.

Interested in exhibiting?
Email wcseminar@dol.ks.gov

Seminar Lodging is
Open Now

See Accommodations
on the

Seminar’s Website

Send newsletter
suggestions to

WCSeminar@dol.ks.gov


