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Notice:
MAXIMUM WEEKLY BENEFIT JULY 1, 2014 to JUNE 30, 2015

$594.00

Department of Labor, Labor Market Information Services, has reported that the state’s average weekly wage for calendar 
year 2013, in accordance with Section 44-704 of the Kansas Employment Security Law, was $791.62. Pursuant to K.S.A. 
44-510c, the maximum workers compensation weekly benefit for the period of July 1, 2014, to June 30, 2015, will be 
$594.00. This maximum will apply to those accidents occurring between July 1, 2014, and June 30, 2015. The minimum 
weekly benefit rate for fatalities is $396.00.

Updates to the Workers Comp Website

The Latest News box, which used to go down the right-hand side of the page, now stretches across the middle and right-
hand columns. This makes any news items a bit more prominent.

The links on the page have been organized into two categories which occupy the middle and right columns respectively, 
under the Latest News box: Resources and About Us.

Resources are generally those pages and tools which can be used to find information about the workings of the workers 
compensation system or to aid in understanding specifics about the claims process.

There are a few new links under this heading: 
•	 Job Vacancies in the Department of Labor goes to the state Department of Administration’s Personnel Services 		

employment Center page where users can search for Department of Labor openings or any other state agency 		
vacancy

•	 Página Español goes to the KDOL all-Spanish page. There is a link to this already in the red portion of the banner
	 at the top of every KDOL page, but we added it to our landing page. It will go directly to the Workers Compensation 

portion of that page;
•	 Statutes and Regulations is not a link but a heading under which there are four links:

▪	 Law Book links directly to the Division’s latest book of statutes and regulations.
▪	 Division Publications links to our forms and Publications page, to which there is already a link on the 		

landing page, but this goes to that portion of the Forms page where links to the statutes and regs can be found; 
this used to be the Laws and Other Rules link under the heading Court of Administrative Law.

▪	 Kansas Legislature — Statutes goes to the Kansas Legislature’s K.S.A. lookup page.
▪	 Secretary of State’s Office — Regulations goes to the Secretary of State’s K.R.A. lookup page

•	 Workers Compenation Agencies: U.S. & Canada goes to a new page on our site that contains a link to
		 every other state’s and Canadian province’s workers compensation regulatory agency site, plus the 			 

District of Columbia. This will be a distinct convenience to users who are involved with multijurisdictional
		 claims and reciprocity issues, as well as those who just want to see what other jurisdictions are doing.

About Us are pages that describe the functions of various units of the Division and where customers can find find 
the specialized tools they need for processing claims information, such as the Medical Fee Schedule and the EDI 
Implementation Guide and related materials. Send questions to wc@dol.ks.gov.

http://www.dol.ks.gov/WorkComp/Default.aspx
http://admin.ks.gov/services/state-employment-center/job/job-postings
http://www.dol.ks.gov/Espanol.aspx
http://www.dol.ks.gov/Files/PDF/kwc11.pdf
http://www.dol.ks.gov/WorkComp/frmpub2.aspx
http://www.dol.ks.gov/WorkComp/frmpub2.aspx#statutes
http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2013_14/statute/
http://www.kssos.org/Pubs/pubs_kar.aspx
http://www.dol.ks.gov/WorkComp/AgenciesByState.aspx
mailto:wc%40dol.ks.gov?subject=


Seminar Registration Opens in Mid-July
Registration for the 40th Annual Workers Compensation Seminar scheduled on September 30 and October 1 at the 
Overland Park Convention Center opens online July 17. The cost for two-day registration is $160 and single day 
attendance is $100. Hardcopy registrations will mail on August 1.

Preapproved continuing education credits are available to Kansas Attorneys, Missouri Attorneys, Certified Case 
Managers and Kansas Nurses. If you are licensed or certified in an occupation that is not pre approved and need proof 
of attendance to file for credits on your own, register and sign in at the continuing education for instructions before 
attending sessions.

The program includes three 60-minute general sessions on day one: Prevailing Factor, presented by Tim Alvarez, Dr. 
Glenn Amundson and Fred Greenbaum, Compensability of Traumatic Neurosis Claims Under the New Law presented 
by Walter Craig, Dr. Terrie Price and Terry Torline and Confronting the Pink Elephant: Medicare Secondary Payer 
Compliance in Workers Compensation Cases presented by Cheryl Haskin and Stephanie Wilson. 

Additional 90-minute general sessions include: 6th Edition AMA Guides, presented by James Biggs, Dr. Brent Koprivica 
and Ryan Weltz and Work Disability and Functional Capacity Evaluations presented by Dr. Terrance Pratt, Michael 
Dreiling, Mark Kolich and Mike Snider.

Afternoon legal sessions offer a Survey of 2013-2014 Appellate Decisions, presented by Jan Fisher and Dallas 
Rakestraw, Workers Compensation Liens in Third-Party Litigation, presented by Timothy King, Coming and Going: 
Common Defenses, presented by Judge Bruce Moore, Recent Cases and Developments under the ADAAA, presented 
by Kim Seten, Ethical Dilemmas and the Cases that Cause Them presented by Roger Fincher and Recent Ethics 
Developments presented by Stan Hazlett.

Several afternoon management sessions are also approved for attorney credits, including Basic Workers Compensation 
and Advanced Workers Compensation, presented by Steve Holzmeister, and The Affordable Health Care Act 
and Workers Compensation, presented by Matthew Condon. Additional management sessions include, Workers 
Compensation Statistical Information, presented by Robert Soria, and Surviving a Year-End Audit, presented by Martin 
Hazen.

In-depth medical sessions include, Symptom Validity Testing, presented by Dr. Terrie Price, K-TRACS (Kansas Tracking 
and Reporting of Controlled Substances) presented by Marty Singleton, Lower Extremity Crush Injuries, presented by 
Dr. Greg Horton, Concussions: Facts, Fallacies and Emerging Trends, presented by Dr. David Dyck, Jr., Hand Injuries, 
presented by Dr. Clinton Walker, and Updates in Burn and Complex Wound Care, presented by Dr. Dhaval Bhavsar.

Attendees will have the opportunity to browse more than 90 exhibits showcasing programs, products and services and 
network at the Sponsors’ & Exhibitors’ Reception at the end of day one.

Questions about the seminar can be answered at WCSeminar@dol.ks.gov.

Seminar lodging
is open

See Accommodations

International Classification of Diseases (ICD) - 10 Coding
On October 1, 2015, the ICD-9 code sets are scheduled to be replaced by the ICD-10. During this transition period, a 
number of healthcare insurance carriers have already begun to utilize and/or recognize the ICD-10 codes. Although not 
mandated by Kansas Workers Compensation, it is strongly recommended that ICD-10 be employed for billing purposes 
on the CMS 1500 Form or an equivalent form containing the same information.

https://www.dol.ks.gov/WorkComp/seminar.aspx
https://www.dol.ks.gov/WorkComp/seminar.aspx
mailto:WCSeminar%40dol.ks.gov?subject=
https://www.dol.ks.gov/WorkComp/seminar.aspx

