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ASSESSMENT INFORMATION

K-WC 121 (Rev. 6-12)

For Insurance Carriers, Self-Insurers and Group-Funded Workers Compensation Pools
Operating Under the Kansas Workers Compensation Act

As an authorized insurance catrrier, self-insurer or group-funded workers compensation pool, the
following information concerning your responsibility with regard to assessment under the Kansas
Workers Compensation Act should be noted:

Statutory Basis for Assessments: K.S.A. 74-712 through 74-719

These sections provide the method of financing the administration of the Kansas Workers
Compensation Act. Effective July 1, 1962, the Act is supported by direct assessments levied
against insurance carriers and self-insurers doing business in Kansas under the Kansas Workers
Compensation Act. Effective July 1, 1983, pools were added.

The law requires this office to make the assessments and to collect the same. The assessments are
determined as follows: each insurance carrier, self-insurer and pool doing business in Kansas under
the Kansas Workers Compensation Act must file with the director an annual report form showing the
total amount of benefit payments made pursuant to the Kansas Workers Compensation Act, paid in the
state of Kansas for the last complete calendar year. The director then determines what portion of the
cost of administering the Act shall be assessed against each such insurance carrier, self-insurer and
pool. The Legislature has provided that no carrier, self-insurer or pool shall pay more than 3 percent of
the total workers compensation benefits paid by the carrier, self-insurer or pool as listed by the director
during the calendar year in question. Insurance companies, self-insurers and pools are assessed after
their authority to come under the Kansas Workers Compensation Act is cancelled to cover any residual
payments begun or awarded prior to cancellation.

The director may require from each insurance carrier, self-insurer or pool and in accordance with
regulations of the director, reports of all payments of compensation made by such carrier, self-insurer or
pool during any period.

Annual Loss Payment Report, Form K-WC 92

This form is mailed on or about January 15 by this office, to be used in reporting the total benefit
payments made by insurance companies, self-insurers or pools during the calendar year, January 1
thru December 31. Self-insurers, insurance companies and pools should report actual amounts paid
out only.

The reports are to be returned by March 15. If any insurance carrier, self-insurer or pool fails to
complete the report and submit it to this office as requested, the director will determine as accurately
as possible the total amount of benefit payments made by such insurance carrier, self-insurer or pool.
The law provides that the director’s determination shall be conclusive. Thus, to ensure that benefit
payments are accurately listed, it is imperative that the reports be completed and submitted to this
division by March 15. Failure to do so might easily result in your company or pool being assessed more
than it should be assessed.
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Annual Assessment Invoice, Form K-WC 94

This form is prepared and mailed on or about May 15 of each year, assessing the percentage of the
total benefits reported on Form K-WC 92.

Section 74-713 provides in part: “Such amounts shall be paid within 30 days from the date that notice
is served upon such carrier, self-insurer or group-funded workers' compensation pool. If such amounts
are not paid within such period, the director may assess a civil penalty equal to 10% of the amount so
unpaid for each 30 days the liability remains due and unpaid, and such civil penalty shall be collected at
the same time and as a part of the original amount as determined by the director under the terms of this
act.”

Section 74-714 provides “If any carrier fails to pay the amounts assessed by the director as provided
in this act for a period of more than 60 days from the time notice of such amount is first served to such
carrier, the director shall make a verified report to the commissioner of insurance, who may suspend
or revoke the authorization of such carrier to do business in the state. If any self-insurer fails to pay the
amounts assessed by the director as provided in this act for a period of more than 60 days from the
time notice of such amount is first served to such self-insurer, the self-insurer shall forfeit such self-
insurer’s bond. The director may set aside such forfeiture if the amount is paid. If any group-funded
workers' compensation pool fails to pay the amounts assessed by the director as provided in this act
for a period of more than 60 days from the time notice of such amount is first served to such pool, the
director shall make a verified report to the commissioner of insurance, who may suspend or revoke
such pool’s certificate of authority.”

For additional information, companies should contact the Division of Workers Compensation at
the contact information below.
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