About the Law
2. Who must report?
All employers and/or labor organizations in the State of Kansas.
3. Who must be reported?
Employers are required to report the following employees:
New employees: Employers must report all employees who reside or work in the
State of Kansas to whom the employer anticipates paying earnings. Employees
should be reported even if they work only one day and are terminated (prior to
the employer fulfilling the new hire reporting requirement).
Re-hires or re-called employees: Employers must report re-hires, or employees
who return to work after being laid off, furloughed, separated, granted a
leave without pay or terminated from employment within 20 days of re-hire.
Termination of employment does not include temporary separations from
employment, such as an unpaid medical leave, an unpaid leave of absence, a
temporary lay-off of less than 60 days in length or an absence for disability or
4. Is anyone exempt from this law?
No one is exempt from this law.
5. Are labor unions and hiring halls required to report?
Labor unions and hiring halls must report their own employees; that is, individuals who
work directly for the labor union or hiring hall. If the labor union or hiring hall simply
refers individuals for employment, it does not need to file new hire reports for these
actions. If a labor organization actually pays the individuals whom it refers (as opposed
to having them paid by the person or entity to whom they have been referred), the
labor organization would be considered the “employer” and subject to the new hire
Basics of New Hire Reporting
6. Why do we need new hire reporting?
New hire reporting speeds up the child support income withholding order process,
expedites collection of child support from parents who change jobs frequently and
quickly locates alleged fathers/non-custodial parents to help in establishing paternity
and child support orders. New hire reporting helps children receive the support they
deserve. Employers are a key partner in ensuring financial stability for many children
and families and should take pride in their role.
7. How often must I report?
Employers must report within 20 days of a new employee’s hire or re-hire date.
Employers who submit reports electronically shall submit the reports by two monthly
transmissions, if necessary, which are not less than 12 days or more than 16 days
8. What information must I report?
In accordance with federal legislation, the State of Kansas asks for the following
- Employer’s Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) - If you have more
than one FEIN, please make certain you use the same FEIN when reporting new
hires you use to report your quarterly wage information.
- Employer’s Name
- Employer’s Address
- Employee’s Name (First, Middle, Last)
- Employee’s Address
- Employee’s Social Security number
- Employee’s Date of Hire or Re-Hire
- Employee’s Date of Birth (optional)
Additional information may be required if reporting electronically. Please click
electronic reporting specifications.
Please Note: The Claims Resolution Act (CRA) of 2010 requires employers to report
the date an employee first performed services for pay to the State New Hire Directory.
This is an anti-fraud measure designed to reduce the number of overpayments to
individuals receiving unemployment insurance benefits.
9. How do I report?
There are a variety of ways to report new hires, including electronic reporting and by
mail or fax. For more information on the convenient reporting options available, click
10. Where do I report new hires?
Electronic Reports - The online reporting feature is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a
week. You may mail this file on a CD-ROM or a 3.5” floppy.
Employers can send new hire data files electronically in a variety of ways or individual reports with a secure email form. Click
to learn more about electronic reporting.
Non-Electronic Reports - Paper new hire reports may either be mailed or faxed to the
Mail reports to:
Kansas New Hire Directory
P.O. Box 3510
Topeka, KS 66601-3510
Fax reports to:
Toll-free: (888) 219-7798
11. How will the information be used?
Federal and State laws contain strict guidelines for the use of new hire reporting
information. Kansas’ child support system matches new hire information against open
child support cases to locate alleged fathers/non-custodial parents to establish paternity
and child support orders and enforce existing orders. New hire information also is
sent to the National Directory of New Hires and is utilized by Child Support Agencies
New hire information also is used by states to help detect and prevent fraudulent
payments to recipients of unemployment insurance and workers compensation.
The use of this information provides financial support for Kansas’ families and a
reduction in unemployment insurance costs.
Common Employer Questions
12. I am an employer with employees in more than one state. What special considerations,
if any, need to be made for this?
New hire reporting is required in all 50 states. One of the goals of new hire reporting
legislation is to make it as easy as possible for employers to comply. For those
employers with employees in more than one state, there are two convenient options
for reporting. Click
for more information about Multistate reporting.
13. Is there an easier way to report other than submitting a paper New Hire Reporting Form?
If you are reporting more than one new hire, we strongly suggest reporting
electronically. You can either report new hires using our website or transmit a data file
created by your company’s human resources or payroll software. Electronic reporting
will eliminate paperwork, increase the accuracy of the reports, allows faster processing
and can save on postage and other costs. Electronic reporting can also qualify
Multistate employers to report new hires directly to one state.
14. What if I have questions about child support or income withholding?
The New Hire Directory does not have access to specific child support information and
does not have the ability to answer questions related to child support.
Child Support Services.
15. Do I have to report if I do not hire anyone?
16. I am an employer who has more than one address. Which one should I list?
The address where you want income withholding orders sent should be used. A street
address is preferred, as long as you can receive mail there.
17. I provide employee information on my Quarterly Wage Reports. Why must I also report the employee as a new hire?
New hire information from the Quarterly Wage Reports becomes available two to six
months after the date of hire. When you immediately report new hires, there is an
improved chance of locating the individual while employed and the required child
support action can be promptly taken. In addition, fraudulent unemployment insurance
and workers compensation benefit payments can be quickly detected.
18. Do temporary agencies have to report their new hires for every assignment?
Temporary agencies are responsible for reporting their workers who sign a W-4 form
and report to an assignment. Workers need to be reported only once; they do not
need to be reported each time they report to a new client. If the worker has a break
in service from your agency and a new W-4 form is required, then a new hire report is
19. Do I need to report an employee who worked for a couple of hours or days and then quits?
If the employee filled out a W-4 form and only worked for a few hours, that employee
must be reported. Although that employee is no longer with your company, there is
useful information that can be obtained, such as home address and work history.
20. Do I have to include my FEIN on line 10 of the W-4? The instructions say to include it only if I sent it to the IRS.
Yes, if you are sending in your new hire report by W-4, you must include the employer
name, address and Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) in blocks 8 and 10 of
the W-4 form. If you have more than one FEIN, please make certain you use the same
FEIN you use to report your quarterly wage information when reporting new hires.
21. If I take over a business, do I have to report all of the employees?
No, not if these employees have previously been reported. Employers must report any
newly hired or re-hired employees who are hired after the take over date.
22. In addition to reporting new hires, do I need to report terminated employees as well?
No. Only new hires and re-hires are required to be reported. However, if the terminated
employee had an Income Withholding Order for child support, the termination should be
reported to the agency that issued the Order.
24. What if I still have more questions about new hire reporting?
Do not hesitate to call the Kansas New Hire Directory at (785) 296-5000, ext. 7700,
or toll-free at (888) 219-7801 with any questions regarding the new hire reporting
process. Our staff is available Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Central Time.
You can report new hires electronically after you log on to the Employer site and select Enter New Hire Information. You can also mail this file on a CD-ROM.
Commonly used forms for reporting New Hire information:
New Hire Report Form
(K-CNS 436) – print and mail or fax
W-4 form (IRS)
The New Hire Report Form is fillable. To submit, print and mail or fax the form to:
Kansas New Hire Directory
P.O. Box 3510
Topeka, KS 66601
Fax - (888) 219-7798