Kansas New Hire Reporting Statutes

75-5742.    State directory of new hires; collection, deletion, confidentiality and transmission of information. (a) The department of labor is hereby designated as the agency to collect the new hires information required by the personal responsibility and work opportunity act of 1996. The secretary of labor shall contract with the secretary for children and families to provide the information needed to be in compliance with the personal responsibility and work opportunity act of 1996.

(b)  The state directory of new hires shall receive, retain and, to the extent permitted by federal law, make information reported to the directory available pursuant to subsection (c).

(c)  Except as otherwise permitted by federal law, any agency receiving information from the state directory of new hires shall handle the information as confidential information for use in administering the programs for which it was received. The state directory of new hires shall make information available:

(1)  Upon implementation of the national directory of new hires, to the national directory; and

(2)  to the secretary for children and families for use in administering an eligibility verification system and, not later than May 1, 1998, the title IV-D program.

(d)  Any employer who reports electronically or magnetically and is required to report newly hired employees to more than one state may elect to transmit all such reports to one state by complying with the requirements of title IV-D.

(e)  Beginning July 1, 1999, the secretary of labor shall annually delete information about individuals contained in the new hires directory if the information is at least two years old. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed as requiring the secretary of labor to delete information needed to administer the employment security or workers compensation programs.

75-5743.  Same; duty to submit information. (a) All employers and labor organizations doing business in this state shall submit information concerning each new employee to the secretary of labor within 20 business days of the hiring, rehiring or return to work of the newly hired employee or within 20 business days from the date the newly hired employee first receives wages or other compensation from the employer. The information shall include the newly hired employee’s name, address, social security number and the date services for remuneration were first performed by the newly hired employee and the employer’s name, address, federal tax identification number and any other information as may be required by section 453A of the social security act, 42 U.S.C. § 653a.

(b) For purposes of this section, the term “newly hired employee” means an employee who has not previously been employed by the employer, or was previously employed by the employer, but has been separated from such prior employment for at least 60 consecutive days.

(c) The Kansas department for children and families shall have access to such information to match the employee’s social security number with title IV-D cases.