WC_Header

how may we help you?



News and Alerts

Mileage Reimbursement Rate Updated

Travel to obtain medical services on or after July 1, 2019, shall be reimbursed at the rate of 58 cents per mile.

The mileage reimbursement rate for state officers and employees is 58 cents per mile effective July 1, 2019.  K.S.A. 44-515(a) provides that mileage to obtain medical services is reimbursed at the rate prescribed for state officers and employees pursuant to K.S.A. 75-3203a.  K.A.R. 51-9-11 provides that all round trips of over five miles to obtain medical services are reimbursable as medical mileage as provided by K.S.A. 44-515(a).

Maximum Weekly Benefit Updated

The Department of Labor, Labor Market Information Services, has reported that the state's average weekly wage for calendar year 2018, in accordance with Section 44-704 of the Kansas Employment Security Law, was $888.29.  Pursuant to K.S.A. 44-510c, the maximum workers compensation weekly benefit for the period of July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 will be $666.00.  This maximum will apply to those accidents occurring between July 1, 2019 and June 30, 2020.  The minimum weekly benefit rate for fatalities for the same period, pursuant to K.S.A. 44-510b, will be $444.00.

Kansas Senate Votes to Confirm Governor Kelly's Labor Secretary Pick

In a  38 - 1 vote today, May 3rd, the Kansas Senate confirmed the appointment of Delía García as the Kansas Secretary of Labor. Secretary García will oversee the state Unemployment Insurance, Workers Compensation, Labor Market Information Services and Industrial Safety and Health divisions. Read more here.

New Workers Compensation Director Appointed to KDOL Leadership Team

KDOL Acting Secretary, Delía García, has selected Jeffrey E. King to serve as Workers Compensation Division Director for the agency. The appointment is effective May 1, 2019. Acting Secretary García believes King’s nearly 30 years of experience handling Workers Compensation cases will be a definite asset to the KDOL Leadership team. Read more here.

Workers' Compensation statute requires written notice to implead workers compensation fund.

Please note, the Workers’ Compensation statute (44-566a(c)(1)) requires that the commissioner of insurance must receive written notice from a party wishing to implead the workers compensation fund, setting forth the nature of the liability asserted. 

If you are filing a motion to implead the fund in OSCAR the Fund is not automatically added as a participant on the case and will not receive notice through the system. Once they have been added to the case then OSCAR will notify them through the system. Please send your written notice to the Fund at Kansas Insurance Department, Workers’ Compensation Fund, 420 SW 9th Street, Topeka KS. 66612.

For support on other OSCAR issues, contact the support team at kdol.oscar@ks.gov



Subscribe to the Work Comp Connection newsletter by emailing Shirley.Hastings@ks.gov for more information.