Workers Compensation


Current and Past Maximums
Types of Benefits

Calculate Disability Benefits and Dates

Contact Us

Forms and Publications

Job Vacancies in the Department of Labor
At the Kansas State Employment Center’s Job Postings page, select the Department of Labor in the Agency drop-down list under the heading Search Criteria

Other Resources

Página Español


Recent Board Decisions


Speakers Bureau

Statutes and Regulations
Kansas WC Laws and Regulations
Division Publications
Kansas Legislature — Statutes
Secretary of State’s Office — Regulations

Workers Compensation Agencies: U.S. & Canada

About Us

Accident Prevention Program
Accident prevention reporting and inspections

Applications and Research
Requests for records; filing for a hearing or settlement

Court of Administrative Law
Appeals Board
Judicial Section

Coverage and Compliance
Proof of coverage; compliance issues

Digitization Project
OSCAR - Welcome to implementation

Fraud and Abuse

Mediation — Alternative Dispute

Medical Services and Fee Schedule Section
Maximum fees; treatment guidelines; fee reporting; utilization review and bill review

Ombudsman/Claims Advisory
Injured worker and general public assistance, including what forms to file; employer services

Self-Insurance and Business
Self-insurance; agency operations

Technology and Statistics
Electronic Data Interchange (EDI)

Vocational Rehabilitation Services
Referral to return-to-work services

Latest News:

Secretary Gordon Approves Appointment of Judge Larson
Secretary Lana Gordon approved Troy Larson for the position of Kansas Department of Labor (KDOL) Administrative Law Judge, Workers Compensation Division in Lenexa. Larson’s nomination was submitted by the Workers Compensation and Employment Security Boards Nominating Committee to fill the position previously held by Judge Steven Howard who retired in March after serving 27 years. Read more here.

2018 Edition of Laws and Regulations
Travel to obtain medical services on or after July 1, 2018, shall be reimbursed at the rate of 54.5 cents per mile. The mileage reimbursement rate for state officers and employees is 54.5 cents per mile effective July 1, 2018. K.S.A. 44-515(a) provides that mileage to obtain medical services is reimbursed at the rate prescribed for state officers and employees pursuant to K.S.A. 75-3203a. K.A.R. 51-9-11 provides that all round trips of over five miles to obtain medical services are reimbursable as medical mileage as provided by K.S.A. 44-515(a).

Weekly Benefits have changed effective July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019. Maximum Weekly Benefits are $645 and Minimum Weekly Survivors Benefit are $430.

Implementation of EDI Release 3.1
The Kansas Division of Workers Compensation will adopt the IAIABC Claims Release 3.1 Standard on November 29, 2018. The Kansas IAIABC R3.1 release date coincides with go-live of Kansas’ Online System for Claims Administration Research/Regulation (OSCAR).  Kansas EDI data will be integrated into OSCAR and some of the new requirements in claims 3.1 are needed to support OSCAR functionality and processes. Please click here for more information.

THANK YOU to Research Medical Center for sponsoring the 44th Annual Workers Compensation Seminar at the Gold Level.

Subscribe to the Work Comp Connection newsletter by emailing Shirley.Hastings@ks.gov for more information.