Judicial Section

Special Administrative Law Judges

KSA 44-551(d) gives the Director the authority to appoint special administrative law judges for the purpose of examining and hearing any designated cases. Special Administrative Law Judges shall be attorneys admitted to practice law in Kansas. They shall have the same authority to exercise powers of regular Administrative Law Judges. Special Administrative Law Judges shall be paid according K.A.R. 51-2-5. (*K.A.R. 51-2-5 amended, effective November 11, 2005).

Fees include:

  1. $50.00 for each settlement hearing heard as part of a regular settlement docket.
  2. $50.00 for each settlement hearing heard as an individual setting.
  3. $100.00 for each preliminary hearing including a preliminary award or for a full hearing.
  4. $100.00 for each pre-hearing settlement conference
  5. $85.00 per hour for preparing and rendering a final award. Total not to exceed $500.00. (b) If a special local administrative law judge incurs expenses conducting one or more settlement hearings in a location other than the judge's home community, the expenses shall be assessed as costs proportionately among the cases generating the expenses.

List of Current Special Administrative Law Judges:

County Administrative Law Judges
Barton Jane Isern
PO Box 1626
Great Bend, KS 67530
Phone: 620-792-6864
Fax: 620-792-5380
Crawford Sara Beezley
Asst: Kenna Combs
PO Box 352
Girard, KS 66743
Phone: 620-724-4111
Fax: 620-724-6411
Finney & SW KS Thomas J. Burgardt
PO Box 1016
Garden City, KS 67846-1016
Phone: 620-276-2381
Fax: 620-276-4120
Ford & SW KS Thomas F. Richardson
PO Box 189
Garden City, KS 67846
Phone: 620-275-0414
Fax: 620-272-0128
Geary/Riley Counties Dan M. McCulley
Asst: Anita Stone
3003 Anderson Ave, Ste 957
Manhattan, KS 66503
Phone: 785-587-8667
Fax: 785-587-8442
Montgomery Harry M. Bass
Asst: Stacy Boss
112 W Laurel
PO Box 785
Independence, KS 67301
Phone: 620-331-4710
Fax: 620-331-5643
Saline Jeffrey E. King
Asst: Parma Barnhill
PO Box 1247
Salina, KS 67402-1247
Phone: 785-827-7251
Fax: 785-827-2815
Sedgwick John L. Carmichael
Asst: Debbie Boutz
O.W. Garvey Bldg.
200 W. Douglas Ave,
Suite 300
Wichita, KS 67202
Phone: 316-264-3300
Fax: 316-264-3423
E.L. "Lee" Kinch
345 Riverview
Suite 700
Wichita, KS 67203
Phone: 316-265-3366
John C. Nodgaard
Asst: Kelly Long
300 W Douglas
Suite 330
Wichita, KS 67202
Phone: 316-267-5267
Fax: 316-267-5754
Shawnee Jerry Shelor
1001 SE Quincy
Topeka, KS 66612
Phone: 785-232-9000
Fax: 785-232-9001
Wyandotte & Johnson Counties Mark E. Kolich
Asst: Julie Jaklevic
13420 Santa Fe Trail Dr
Lenexa, KS 66215
Phone: 913-888-7100
Michael R. Wallace
Asst: Carolee Borgman
4400 Shawnee Mission Pkwy - Suite 100
Mission, KS 66205
Phone: 913-362-5400
Fax: 913-362-4244